Managing Shared Objects on a Nominode

Shared Objects can be used represent pieces of information that are reused in many different Tasks. Using a Shared Object allows you update a value one time in a single place rather than needing to update the value in each of the Tasks where it is used..

Both Connections and Shared Objects are used for storing pieces of information shared across multiple Tasks.  Connections are used to store the sensitive pieces needed by Tasks to connect to external systems.  Shared Objects are used to store the non-sensitive pieces that drive Task output.

Creating a Shared Object

  1. Click on Shared Objects in the middle of the left hand navigation menu of your Nominode.
  2. Set the Project Select field at the top of the page to the Project* that you would like to associate the new Shared Object with.
  3. Click on the Create Shared Object button in the upper right hand corner of the page.
  4. Type or pick a data type for the Shared Object.
  5. Click on the OK button.
  6. Assign a meaningful alias and a specific value for your Shared Object.
  7. Click on the Create button in the upper right hand corner of the section or the Save button at the bottom of the section.
  8. Click on Yes when prompted to create the Shared Object.
*Projects are discussed in more detail in the Nominode Permissions Overview support document.  Steps to create a new Project are also available.

Editing a Shared Object

  1. Click on Shared Objects in the middle of the left hand navigation menu of your Nominode.
  2. Use the Project Select field at the top of the page to select the Project that your Shared Object is associated with.
  3. Locate your Shared Object in the list, using the search fields or page navigation arrows if necessary.
  4. Click on the alias of the Shared Object in the Alias column.
  5. Click on the Unlock button in the upper right hand corner of the page.
  6. You can now modify the alias for your Shared Object and the value associated it.
  7. Click on the Save button in the upper right hand corner of the section or the Save button at the bottom of the section.
  8. Click on Yes when prompted to save the Shared Object.
  9. All Tasks using the Shared Object will now automatically use the updated value.

Cloning a Shared Object

  1. Click on Shared Objects in the middle of the left hand navigation menu of your Nominode.
  2. Use the Project Select field at the top of the page to select the Project that your Shared Object is associated with.
  3. Locate your Shared Object in the list, using the search fields or page navigation arrows if necessary.
  4. Click on the alias of the Shared Object in the Alias column.
  5. Click on the Clone button in the upper right hand corner of the page.
  6. Click on Yes when prompted to create a new Shared Object.

Using a Shared Object in a Task

  1. Click on Tasks at the top of the left hand navigation menu of your Nominode.
  2. Use the Project Select field at the top of the page to select the Project that your Task is associated with.
  3. Locate the Task where you want to use a Shared Object in the list, using the search fields or page navigation arrows if necessary.
  4. Click on the name of the Task in the Task Name column.
  5. Click on the Unlock button in the upper right hand corner of the page.
  6. Select the alias of your Shared Object in the Shared Object Select field.
  7. Note that the value field will become gray, disallowing editing, and will reflect the current value of the Shared Object selected.
  8. Click on the Save button in the upper right hand corner of the section.
  9. Click on Yes when prompted to save the Task.

Deleting a Shared Object

  1. Click on Shared Objects in the middle of the left hand navigation menu of your Nominode.
  2. Use the Project Select field at the top of the page to select the Project that your Shared Object is associated with.
  3. Locate your Shared Object in the list, using the search fields or page navigation arrows if necessary.
  4. Click on the alias of the Shared Object in the Alias column.
  5. Click on the Delete button in the upper right hand corner of the page.
  6. Click on Yes when prompted to delete the Shared Object.
Byte sized updates delivered to your inbox
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.